Mississippi Institute Of Arts And Letters Names Robert Ivy As Recipient Of Prestigious Lifetime Achievement Award

The nonprofit Mississippi Institute of Arts and Letters (MIAL) will be awarding the Noel Polk Lifetime Achievement award to Robert Ivy, the Executive Vice President and Chief Executive Officer at the American Institute of Architects (AIA). This will be the first time an architect has received the prestigious award.

Ivy has worked as an editor, author, and architect. After graduating from Sewanee: The University of the South with a Bachelor’s of Arts in English, he attended Tulane University and received his Masters in Architecture. He also served in the U.S. Navy before his career as an architect.

During his role as editor-in-chief of McGraw-Hill’s Architectural Record, the magazine acquired numerous awards and prestige. He was also a huge part of the McGraw-Hill expansion in China and the Middle East. CEO wrote a biography Fay Jones: Architect in 2001, which follows the American architect’s work. His book, cited by the Art Library Society of North America, is currently in its third edition.

Other notable facts about Ivy include being on the panel that selected who would design the National Dwight D. Eisenhower Memorial, and he has served as a critic for national publications. Ivy has also received numerous awards, including the McGraw-Hill Award for Management Excellence in 1998 and the Crane award in 2009. Ivy also received an honor from the Alpha Rho Chi, the national architect fraternity, for effectively communicating the value of design in 2010.

AIA president Carl Elefante said, “This award comes as a crowning personal and professional achievement for him as a native of Mississippi. On behalf of the AIA, I am truly delighted to congratulate him on this unique honor.”

On June 2nd, at an official awards event, both Ivy and Andrew Cary Young, a stained-glass artist, will receive their awards. Other renowned Mississippians who have received this award are writer Eudora Welty, Writer Shelby Foote, singer Leontyne Price, artist Walter Anderson, and actor Morgan Freeman.

Source: https://archinect.com/news/article/150059501/robert-ivy-to-receive-lifetime-achievement-award